University of Minnesota
University of Minnesota

Physics and Astronomy
Internal Wiki


Principle Investigator
  Paul Crowell

Graduate Students
  Tim Peterson
  Gordon Stecklein
  Justin Watts

Alumni and Theses
   Changjiang Liu - 2016
Dynamic Detection of Spin Accumulation by Ferromagnetic Resonance
- Now at Argonne National Laboratory

   Andrew Galkiewicz - 2015
Magnetic domain wall dynamics in patterned nanowires
- Now at Intel

   Kevin Christie - 2014
Non-equilibrium spin accumulation in Co2FexMn1-xSi/n-GaAs heterostructures
- Now at Polar Semiconductor

   Chad Geppert - 2014
Spin-dependent transport phenomena in ferromagnet/semiconductor heterostructures
- Now at Intel

  Lee Weinkes - 2013
- Now at Intel
  Mike Erickson - 2013
Surface and Interface effects in nanoscopic metallic spin transport devices
- Now at Intel

  Te-Yu Chen - 2012
Magnetic vortex dynamics: non-linear dynamics, pinning mechanisms, and dimensionality crossover
- Now at Intel

  Mun Chan - 2010
Hyperfine effects in ferromagnet-semiconductor heterostructure
  Eric Garlid - 2010 Electrical Detection of the Spin Hall Effect in Ferromagnet-Semiconductor Heterostructures
  Robert Compton - 2007
Vortex Pinning and Dynamics
  Xiaohua Lou - 2007
Electrical Detection of Spin Transport in Ferromagnet-Semiconductor Heterostructures
  Jooho Park - 2005
Spin Dynamics in Magnetic Vortex Structures
  Jonathan Strand - 2004
Electron Spin Dynamics and Hyperfine Interaction in Ferromanget-Semiconductor Heterostructures
  Dave Engebretson - 2003
Time-Resolved Magnetization Dynamics in Crystalline Ferromagnets and Exchange-Biased Systems
  Abdel Isakovic - 2003
Spin Transport in Ferromagnet-Semiconductor Heterostructures
  Christian Bayer
Magnetization dynamics in inhomogeneously magnetized magnetic structures
  Brian Caliva

  Jesse Berezovsky

  Jeff Parker

  David Toyli

Group Photo

Group Photo

Summer 2014
Left to right: John Valentin, Changjiang Liu, Yilikal Ayino, Andrew Galkiewicz, Alex Boldin, Chad Geppert, Paul Crowell, Justin Watts, Kevin Christie, Gordon Stecklein, Tim Peterson